IRIS Board of Directors

IRIS member universities elect the IRIS Board of Directors. They appoint several at large members and a Scientific Advisory Board and a Policy and Outreach Advisory Board.  In addition to the six elected representatives of the IRIS membership, The University of Michigan (as host institution) named one representative to the board.

The board oversees the management of the affairs, business, and activities of IRIS, and establishes policies and directives governing business and programs of IRIS.

Board of Director members are:

Elizabeth Adams
Director, Office of Research and Project Administration, Princeton University
Term: June 1, 2019-March 31, 2022


Mary Sue Coleman
President, Association of American Universities
(at-large member)


Kimberly Espy
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of Texas-San Antonio
Term: April 1, 2017-March 31, 2020


Kimberly Griffin
Director for Electronic Research Administration, Northwestern University
Term: April 1, 2017-March 31, 2021


James Hilton
Vice Provost for Academic Innovation, University Librarian & Dean of Libraries, University of Michigan
Term: April 1, 2017-


Mike Holland
Vice Chancellor for Science Policy and Research Strategies, University of Pittsburgh
Term: June 1, 2019-March 31, 2022


Daniel Reed
Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of Utah
Term: April 1, 2017-March 31, 2020


Rodolfo Torres
Vice Chancellor for Research and Economic Development, University of California, Riverside
Term: April 1, 2018-March 31, 2021



Scientific Advisory Board

Erica Fuchs
Professor, Department of Engineering and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University

Kaye Husbands Fealing
Chair and Professor, School of Public Policy, Georgia Institute of Technology

Ron Jarmin
Associate Director for Economic Programs, and Performing the Non-Exclusive Functions and Duties of the Director, U.S. Census Bureau

Julia Lane
Professor, Wagner School; Center for Urban Science and Progress, Provostial Fellow, New York University

Erin Leahey
Professor of Sociology, University of Arizona

Christopher Liu
Assistant Professor, Strategic Management, University of Toronto

Andrew McCallum
Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Walter “Woody” Powell
Professor of Sociology, Stanford University

Paula Stephan
Professor of Economics, Georgia State University

Bruce Weinberg
Professor of Economics, Ohio State University


Emeritus Board Members

Christopher Molloy
Senior Vice President, Office of Research & Economic Development, Rutgers University
Term: April 1, 2017-March 31, 2018


Neil Sharkey
Vice President for Research, Pennsylvania State University
Term: April 1, 2017-March 31, 2019


Caroline Whitacre
Senior Vice President for Research, Ohio State University
Term: April 1, 2017-March 31, 2019


Policy and Outreach Committee

The charge for the IRIS Policy and Outreach Committee (POC) includes the following:

  • Develop mechanisms to streamline the membership process
  • Offer guidance on marketing IRIS to universities broadly, as well as internally on a campus
  • Generate best practices and use cases for data, reporting, and advocacy
  • Expand communities of support among members at all levels
  • Help connect IRIS to relevant groups such as FDP, AAU-CFR, and COGR
  • Aid in the translation of new research findings for various IRIS stakeholders
  • Provide guidance to the IRIS Executive Director and Board on issues pertaining to the use of data and reports
  • Contribute to planning of future IRIS Summits with an emphasis on expanding stakeholder participation
  • Promote examples of IRIS being used to inform inclusive innovation and economic development

Policy and Outreach Committee members are:

Lauren Brookmeyer
Stony Brook University

Warren Brown
Cornell University

Kimberlee Eberle-Sudre

John Gonzalez
University of Michigan

Richard Greeley
University of Michigan

Kimberly Griffin
Northwestern University

Mike Holland
University of Pittsburgh

Nick Mangnall
Washington University in St. Louis

Lucas Marxen
Rutgers University

Jessica Paolini
Rutgers University

Kristen de Paor
University of Pittsburgh

Marvin Parnes
University of Michigan

Sarah Rovito

Elias Samuels
University of Michigan

Jim Taylor
Pennsylvania State University

Bruce Weinberg
Ohio State University

Jim Woodell

Technical Advisory Group

The Technical Advisory Group recommends directions for technical aspects of IRIS, such as product development and the testing of new products and services.

Technical Advisory Group members are:

Chris Allan
University of Michigan

Greg Carr
Ohio State University

Mike Geier
University of Wisconsin

Kimberly Griffin
Northwestern University

Jed Marsh
Princeton University

Lucas Marxen
Rutgers University

Dan McCarville
University of Oregon

Jeff Phillips
Texas A&M University

Andrew Sallans
University of Virginia


Institute for Research on Innovation and Science
University of Michigan
Institute for Social Research
Survey Research Center
330 Packard St, 2354 Perry Bldg
Ann Arbor, MI, 48104-2910

P: (734) 615-0015
F: (734) 763-3862
@IRIS_UMETRICS / #irisumetrics

Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation Logo
Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Logo
University of Michigan Logo

© 2021 The Regents of the University of Michigan  |  Ann Arbor, MI 48109 USA  |  Phone: +1 (734) 764-1817 |  @IRIS_UMETRICS / #irisumetrics